Self Care

Something I’ve been focusing on a lot this summer is self care. In the past, I’ve gotten caught up in worrying about everyone and everything but myself, which definitely has been detrimental to my mental and physical health. After being inspired by some bloggers and Instagram users, I decided to make myself my biggest priority! Today I’m going to highlight four of my favorite forms of self care. 

Yoga
I started practicing yoga about two months ago! Vinyasa flow is all I’ve done so far, and I really enjoy it. I love that it is a meditation in motion and that it uses so much strength as well. My favorite yoga poses are three legged dog and Warrior 3. Yoga always helps me to be mindful and distracts me from any negativity I may have had that day. 

Art

I’m a very creative, artistic person, so it’s not a big surprise that I find art therapeutic! I love using adult coloring books, dancing, and painting. I’m always so proud of myself when I create something beautiful. 

Taking Baths 

Nothing is quite as calming and relaxing as a hot bath. It does wonders for sore muscles and really helps me de-stress. I always love adding bubbles since they make baths so pretty! I hate that I can’t take baths (only showers) at my dorm, so I’m taking advantage of my last few days at home!

Meditation

Meditation is not always easy for me, but I definitely think it has some great benefits. I’ve found a few apps that have free guided meditations that are pretty good. I also like doing guided breathing exercises. I’ve found that mindfulness is a great tool to redirect negative thoughts and energy. 

Well, these are some of my preferred forms of self care – Comment some of yours below and I’ll give them a try!

Leave a Reply

